Land Acknowledgment

We wish to acknowledge the land on which the University of Toronto operates. For thousands of years it has been the traditional land of the Huron-Wendat, the Seneca, and most recently, the Mississaugas of the Credit River. Today, this meeting place is still the home to many Indigenous people from across Turtle Island and we are grateful to have the opportunity to meet and work on this land.

NCS18 @ University of Toronto

Local Organizer: Alexandra Gillespie; Local Host: William Robins, President, Victoria University; Project Managers: Laura Mitchell; Julia King; Ara Glenn-Johanson; Local Committee: Suzanne Akbari, Jonathan Brent; Kara Gaston; Cai Henderson; Jessica Lockhart; Matt Sergi; Graduate Student Volunteers: Julianna Chianelli; Brianna Daigneault; Jessica Henderson; Julie Mattison; Morgan Moore; Katheryne Morrissette; Jack Twosmokes; Undergraduate Student Volunteers: Alaheh Amini; Batool Amiree; Mussié Berhane; Shawna Browarsky-Quigley; Mahera Islam; Amanda Stasiuk; Julia Toljagic.; wWith kind assistance from: Pearce Carefoote, Julia Culpeper, Robert Eberts, and Merrylee Greenan.

The NCS18 Graduate Workshop Organizer was Kara Gaston, University of Toronto, with instruction from Suzanne Akbari, University of Toronto; Orietta Da Rold, St. John’s College, University of Cambridge; Sonja Drimmer, University of Massachusetts Amherst; Carissa M. Harris, Temple University; Simon Horobin, Magdalen College, University of Oxford; Jeannie Miller, University of Toronto; Daniel Wakelin, St. Hilda’s College, University of Oxford; the Teachers’ Workshop Organizers were Kara Crawford, The Bishop's School, La Jolla, CA and Candace Barrington, Central Connecticut State University, with Michael Kuczynski, Tulane University. The Organizers of the NCS18 Mentorship Program were: Tom Hahn, University of Rochester; Shazia Jagot, University of Surrey; and Sierra Lomuto, Macalester College, organized the NCS18 Mentorship Program. Thanks to all of them.

Thanks also to Fiona Somerset, University of Connecticut, for running errands magnificently; James Dylan Sargan, University of Oxford, and Anna Wilson, Harvard University, for their work on the LGBTQIA+ Get Together. We are grateful to; Sasha Suda, Art Gallery of Ontario, and Seeta Chaganti, University of California DavisBerkeley, for their work on the AGO-MOC Reception, with help from other Medievalists of Color: Sierra Lomuto; Jonathan Hsy, George Washington University; Wan-Chuan Kao, Washington and Lee University; Dorothy Kim, Brandeis University; Shyama Rajendran, University of Wyoming; Cord Whitaker, Wellesley College; Mariah Min, University of Pennsylvania; and Nahir Otañno Gracia, Beloit College,.


President 2016-18: Ardis Butterfield, Yale University; Executive Director: Ruth Evans, St. Louis University; Administrative Assistant: Jessica Rezunyk, Upper Canada College; Trustees 2014-18: Candace Barrington;, Alexandra Gillespie;, David Matthews, University of Manchester; Trustees 2016-2020: Anthony Bale, Birkbeck College, University of London; Simon Horobin; Patricia Ingham, Indiana University, Bloomington; Emily Steiner, University of Pennsylvania

NCS18 Program Chairs: Robert J. Meyer-Lee, Agnes Scott College, and Claire M. Waters, University of California, Davis; NCS18 Program Committee: Louise d'Arcens, Macquarie University; Jonathan Hsy; Elliot Kendall, University of Exeter; Sebastian Sobecki, University of Groningen


We are grateful for the support we have received from the University of Toronto, most especially from Victoria University. At the tri-campus University of Toronto we have received kind support from the Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies; the Centre for Medieval Studies; St. Michael’s College; Trinity College; University College; Massey College and the Book History and Print Culture Program; University of Toronto Libraries; the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library; the Department of English; the Department for the Study of Religion; the Department of Spanish and Portuguese; the Graduate Department of Art; the Anne Tanenbaum Centre for Jewish Studies; the Centre for Comparative Literature; the Department of History; the Emilio Goggio Chair in Italian Studies; the Canada Research Chair in Medieval Philosophy; the Department of Near and Middle Eastern Civilizations; and the Centre for Drama, Theatre and Performance Studies. We are grateful to the Department of English at the University of Toronto Scarborough; and, at the University of Toronto Mississauga, to Theatre Erindale, the Department of English and Drama, the Department of Language Studies, and the Department of Visual Studies for support. We are also grateful to the Art Gallery of Ontario for the use of their spaces events and exhibits.